The All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) is an award that seeks to celebrate the value we as Africans place on music

Burna Boy, Simi, Wizkid & More Nominated At This Year’s All Africa Music Awards

The All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) is an award that seeks to celebrate the value we as Africans place on music, and the impact music has had on our culture. On their sixth edition this year, AFRIMA has now announced the nominees, with voting set to open on September 1.

With an aim of propelling African music beyond our continent into the global landscape, AFRIMA lines up some of the most influential acts on the continent year to year, commending them and honouring them for their efforts in pushing Africa to the world.

So, given Burna Boy’s success internationally, he boasts five nominations in categories like ‘Artist of the Year’, ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Best Male in West Africa’. Burna’s go-to producer, Kel P — responsible for gems like “Killin Dem” and “On The Low” — also scored a ‘Producer of the Year’ nod.

Simi also nabbed a few major nominations, including ‘Best African Video’ for “Jericho” and ‘Album of the Year’ for Omo Charlie Champagne. As for Nigeria’s biggest stars, Wizkid and Davido, it’s hardly a shocker to see both of them up for the ‘Artist of the Year’ award.

Check out the nominees for all your favourite categories below:
Best Female Artist (West Africa)

Aya Nakamura (Mali)

Josey (Cote d’Ivoire)

Kanvee Adams (Liberia)

Manamba Kante (Guinea)

Move (Ghana)

Niniola (Nigeria)

Simi (Nigeria)

Teni (Nigeria)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Male Artist (West Africa)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Davido (Nigeria)

DJ Arafat (Cote d’Ivoire)

King Promise (Ghana)

Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)

Salif Keita (Mali)

Shatta Wale (Ghana)

Sidiki Diabate (Mali)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

African Fan’s Favourite

Davido (Nigeria)

Ferre Gola (DRC)

GIMS & Maluma (DRC)

Kuami Eugene (Ghana))

Lbenj (Morocco)

Magasco (Cameroon)

Mohamed Ramadan (Egypt)

Skiibii (Nigeria)

The Ben (Rwanda)

WCB Wasafi (Tanzania)

Album Of The Year

African Giant — Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Afrikan Sauce — Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Chulo Vibes — Timaya (Nigeria)

Limpopo Champions League — Sho Madjozi (South Africa)

Manyan-Nyan — Vusi Nova (South Africa)

Naked — Nadia Nakai (South Africa)

Omo Charlie Champagne — Simi (Nigeria)

Poetic Trance — Aziz Sahmaoui (Morocco_

Umqhele — Sjava (South Africa)

Wilmer — Patoranking (Nigeria)

Artist of the Year

Aminux (Morocco)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Daphne (Cameroon)

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond Platinum (Tanzania)

Nasty C (South Africa)

Prince Kaybee (South Africa)

Tamer Hosny (Egypt)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Most Promising Artist

Ariel Sheney (Cote d’Ivoire)

Braulio Alexandre (Angola)

Farid Ghannam (Morocco)

Fireboy DML (Nigeria)

Hillzy (Zimbabwe)

Nada Azhari (Morocco)

Rema (Nigeria)

Shan’L (Gabon)

The Big Hash (South Africa)

Yann’Sine (Morocco)

Producer of the Year

Kel P (Nigeria)

Mace (South Africa)

Prince Kaybee (South Africa)

S2Kizzy (Tanzania)

Salatiel (Cameroon)

Sarz (Nigeria)

Shizzo (Nigeria)

TH Productions (Egypt)

Vusi Nova (South Africa)

Zino D, Thandanani Chehore & More (South Africa)

Song of the Year

“Banomoya” — Prince Kaybee ft. Busiswa & TNS (South Africa)

“Blow My Mind” — Davido & Chris Brown (Nigeria)

“Fever” — Wizkid (Nigeria)

“Iokote” — Maua Sama and Hanstone (Tanzania)

“Naseny Leh” — Tamer Hosny (Egypt)

“On The Low” — Burna Boy (Nigeria)

“SMA” — Nasty C ft. Rowlene (South Africa)

“Tetema” — Rayvanny ft. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

“Umama” — Sjava (South Africa)

Best African Collaboration

“Jika” — AKA ft. Yanga Chief (South Africa)

“Pra Cuiar Main” — Anselmo Ralph ft. C4 Pedro (Angola)

“Killin Dem” — Burna Boy ft. Zlata (Nigeria)

“Balance Well” — Dammy Krane ft. Olamide, Pearl Thusi & Medikal (Nigeria)

“Blow My Mind” — Davido & Chris Brown (Nigeria/USA)

“Maghreb Gang” — Farid Bang & French Montana & Khaled (Algeria/Morocco)

“One Ticket” — Kizz Daniel ft. Davido (Nigeria)

“Low” — Larry Gaaga ft. Wizkid (Nigeria)

“SMA” — Nasty C ft. Rowlene (South Africa)

“Banomoya” — Prince Kaybee ft. Busiswa and TNS (South Africa)

“Tetema” — Rayvanny ft. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Best African Video

Adasa Cookey for “Jerich”o — Simi ft. Patoranking (Nigeria)

Director Kenny for “Tetema” — Rayvanny ft. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania_

Jypheal Tayorault for “I Love You” — Sidki Diabate (Cote d’Ivoire)

REX for “Oheemaa” — Kuami Eugene ft. KIDI (Ghana)

Said El Marouk for “Naseny Leh” — Tamer Hosny (Egypt/Lebanon)

Tebego ‘Tebza’ Malope for “Ngwa” — Blick Bass (South Africa)

Vusa Blaqs for “Dzamutsana” — Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)

Best African DJ

Black Coffee (& David Guetta) (South Africa)

DJ Africano (Morocco)

DJ Maphorisa, DJ Raybel (South Africa)

DJ Moh Green (Alferia)

DJ Neptune (Nigeria)

DJ Spinall (Nigeria)

DJ Tunez (Nigeria)

DJ Zinhle (South Africa)

Prince Kaybee ft. Busiswa and TNS (South Africa)

RJ The DJ (Tanzania)

Check the AFRIMA website for the full list of categories and nominees for this year’s awards.

Related Posts